As SAO chair, Mr. Borbey will work closely with senior Arctic officials from the eight Arctic states that comprise the Arctic Council, as well as with the heads of the Council’s six Indigenous Permanent Participants, in managing the Arctic Council’s activities during Canada’s chairmanship.

“As Canada assumes the chairmanship in May of this year, we will lead the important work of the Arctic Council. Mr. Borbey’s extensive experience working with Northerners will be a great asset in his role as the chair of the Arctic Senior Officials,” said Minister Aglukkaq.

The overarching theme for Canada’s chairmanship will be Development for the People of the North, with sub-themes of Responsible Arctic Resource Development, Safe Arctic Shipping and Sustainable Circumpolar Communities.

Mr. Borbey will continue to serve as president of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency.

Sigrid Anna Johnson, Canada’s SAO, will continue to represent Canada at the Arctic Council.

The Arctic Council is a leading intergovernmental forum where Canada advances its Arctic foreign policy and national interests as outlined in its Northern Strategy. The council was set up to promote cooperation and coordination among the Arctic states, in consultation with the Arctic’s Indigenous peoples, on common Arctic issues.

For more information on Canada’s work on international Arctic issues, please see Canada and the Circumpolar World.

For further information, media representatives may contact:
Cailin Rodgers
Office of the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq
Minister of Health, Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency and Minister for the Arctic Council

Foreign Affairs Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @DFAIT_MAECI